Being an Edu Major is One of the Most Tedious Tasks One Can Endure

I always wanted to be a teacher just like my mom and sister and a host of other family members. So straight out of high school I enrolled at Rowan University, and attempted to get into the prestigious education program. And of course like many others I wasn’t accepted. I got in for my minor though, so I did it that way. Major as Liberal Arts and Humanities Sequences A & B being History and Writing Arts. Then after I was in I beat the system by switching to what I wanted my major to actually be in the first place which is education. Yea that’s how you beat the system! But not really, because now that I’m in the major I realized that it’s not just a four year program its a five  year program. They literally hire us off to these schools under the idea of  “you’re just receiving more educational experience in the classroom.”

After participating in Tlc I and Tlc II for field experience, then Curriculum and Assessment & Differentiated Instruction, and now Math Pedagogy I’ve gotten all the pre-student teaching field experience that I can take. My placement is in Bridgeton, NJ. A school located 45 minutes North or Rowan. Problem I live an hr from Rowan from the opposite direction. Two hours it takes me to get to a field placement and I’m not even student teaching yet, quite rediculous I might add. and this is not just some 2 or 3 hour field experience we are there for about 8hrs begining at 8:30 in the morning. I just don’t know what its going to take for an Edu Major to graduate and stop the madness. I’m so over it!

Rowan University

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Being an Edu Major is One of the Most Tedious Tasks One Can Endure

  1. I read your post and it’s funny how much it mirrors what I have been struggling with lately. I literally feel like “enough already”. I am so tired of school and I just want to be done. It’s so difficult trying to juggle work, kids and school and it feels like I can’t devote enough time to everything and I am not being my best at anything. This semester has been the most difficult yet, the workload has been more than I can keep up with. My one piece of advice I can offer for you is don’t give up. You’re so close and as frustrating as it can be, an education will lead you to a successful future. Besides, you don’t want to end up like me as the world’s oldest first year teacher…lol

  2. I have always wanted to become a teacher my whole life. To me it would mean the world to me and be a dream come true. I want to become a special education teacher, and make a difference in the life of a child. I struggled through school when it came ot test taking.Testing is my biggest weakness. I just want to help people in general and I love working with little kids. I am a sunday school teacher and I work with children ages three to nine and its so neat and joyful!

Leave a comment